Surf for the Sea Results! The 18th Annual Surf for the Sea surf contest was hel…

Surf for the Sea Results!

The 18th Annual Surf for the Sea surf contest was held at the Oceanside Pier on Saturday and Sunday, September 27 & 28, 2014. The originally scheduled event was Sept 6 & 7 at Oceanside North Jetty but was postponed due to 2 massive hurricane swells and an intense New Zealand swell that made conditions hazardous for surfing. This surfing event is in loving memory of the late Harry Bennett, Steve Leighton, Tore Bonura, Chuck “Clubber” Hundley, Banning Capps, Court Overin, John Craven, Midget Smith, Casey Williams, Chris Pompa, Michael Pultz, and most recently Susie Prestie. They
are all our local family of surfers who have passed away. This is an annual Memorial Benefit for the Environment with proceeds going to the Surfrider Foundation, San Diego Chapter, and other environmental organizations that help to raise awareness and help
protect our ocean, waves and beaches. 216 competitors received an event T-Shirt, lunch catered by Johnny Manana’s Restaurant and a chance at many raffle prizes including 4 surfboards and 6 skateboards. Local merchants and sponsors who help make this event a success year after year are: Asylum Surf Shop, Bodyglove Wetsuits, Byrne Surfboards, Dragon Optical, Eco Water, Etnies Surfwear, Firewire Surfboards, Fox Deluxe, Johnny Mananas, North County Trophies, PCH Mortgage & Real Estate, Josh Potter Art, Raz New Kreations Surf Products, Oakley, Skate One/Surf One/Positiv Skateboards, Smith Optics, Spy Optics, Standard Graphics, Sticky Bumps, SUPERBRAND Surfboards, Surfride Board Shop, The Surfrider Foundation San Diego Chapter, WSA (Western Surfing Association), Scholastic Surf Series and Zico Beverage.
The raffle was made possible by all the generous donations of local merchants and the surfing industry. A very big thank you to everyone for helping to make this another successful year for Surf for the Sea. For more information, please contact Carolyn Krammer, Contest Director at (760) 439-0863 or [email protected]. Thank You.

Pro/Am Open
1. Max Gardenier $500 Oceanside
2. Pedro Fernandez $250 Dominican Republic
3. Kyle Marre $150 Carlsbad
4. Vince Alessi $100 Oceanside

Men (18-24)
1. Ethan Grant Carlsbad
2. Kyle Marre Carlsbad
3. Max Gardenier Oceanside
4 Tanner Waite Oceanside
5. Spencer Bentley Carlsbad
6. Josh Maynard Oceanside

Masters (25-34)
1. Colin Anderson Santa Barbara
2. Greg Abad Oceanside
3. Carson Smith Vista
4. Keith Bybee Cardiff
5. Luis Barboza Encinitas
6. Scott McBride Oceanside

Senior Men (35-49)
1. Chuck Golden Carlsbad
2. Mike Thomas Carlsbad
3. Jared Dunham Oceanside
4. Kevin Wood Arizona
5. Josh Spengler Oceanside
6. Scott Garner Oceanside

Legends (50 +)
1. Dave Kerr Oceanside
2. Ray Kunz Oceanside
3. Mike Risko Oceanside
4. Jimmy Weldon Oceanside
5. Steve Banken San Diego
6. Mark Tobin Templeton

Micro Groms (6 & Under)
1. Evan Saltes Encinitas
2. Jett Prefontaine Carlsbad
3. Hudson Saunders Laguna Beach
4. Apollo Bennett Oceanside
5. Lenin Ferguson Carlsbad
6. Hayden West Suess Oceanside

Micro Groms (8 & under)
1. Lucas Owston Oceanside
2. Hudson Saunders Laguna Beach
3. Eli Park Carlsbad
4. Peyton Shaw San Clemente
5. Ben Brantell San Clemente
6. Ryder Newtson Vista

Grommet Boys (12 & Under)
1. William Mitchell Oceanside
2. Kiko Nelson San Clemente
3. Sam Nelson San Clemente
4. Ethan Prestage Carlsbad
5. Hayden Millerick San Clemente
6. Evan Gallen San Diego

Boys (13-14)

1. Ethan Hurst Huntington Beach
2. Max Beach San Clemente
3. Tucker Trickey Encinitas
4. Orion Lehrmann Carlsbad
5. Makiah Spiess Carlsbad
6. Trent Smith San Diego

Junior Men (15-17)

1. Remy Juboori La Jolla
2. Landen Kerr Oceanside
3. Jack Matt Carlsbad
4. Michael Dennis Carlsbad
5. Nick Holdman San Diego
6. Reid Novelich Menifee

Gromette Girls (12 & under)
1. Jayme Linnes San Clemente
2. Bryce Ava Wettstein Encinitas
3. Lilie Kulber Los Angeles
4. Olivia Pessanha San Diego
5. Rachel Risko Oceanside
6. Makenna Doan San Diego

GIRLS (15 & Under)

1. Sydney Tisdel Carlsbad
2. Jordyn Barratt Cardiff
3. Samantha Sibley San Clemente
4. Cameron Duby San Juan Capistrano
5. Maddie Devilbiss Carlsbad
6. Brooke Young San Diego

Open Women Shortboard

1. Rachel Tominaga Manhattan Beach
2. Cameron Duby San Juan Capistrano
3. Samantha Sibley San Clemente
4. Sydney Tisdel Carlsbad
5. Samantha Lamirand Cardiff

6. Maddie Devilbiss Carlsbad

Open Womens Longboard

1. Cameron Duby San Juan Capistrano
2. Keili McEvilly Carlsbad
3. Hana McEvilly Carlsbad
4. Kaitlin Ray San Diego

Junior Longboard (25 & under)
1. Austin Sonnier Encinitas
2. Orion Lehrmann Carlsbad
3. Zach Philoctete Long Beach
4. Ben Goldstein Carlsbad
5. Oshean Lehrmann Carlsbad
6. Jace Gardenier Oceanside

Senior Longboard (26 & over)
1. Ryan Leighton Oceanside
2. Shea Roney Leucadia
3. Aaron Holland Fallbrook
4. Pablo Fernandez Temecula
5. Josh Spengler Oceanside
6. Ben Murphy San Diego

Surfboard Winners:

Ryan Risko, Oceanside Byrne Surfboard
William Mitchell, Oceanside Firewire Surfboard
Austin Campbell, Oceanside Raz Surfboard
Josh Spengler, Oceanside SuperBrand Surfboard