Church, San Onofre Oct 27, 2012


The Scholastic Surf Series a division of the Western Surfing Assoc. (WSA) launched its 2012-13 season for Orange County High Schools and Middle Schools on Saturday, October 27, 2012 at Church’s (San Onofre State Beach).  Seven Orange County Middle Schools and five High Schools competed in 2 to 4 foot surf with awesome, hot, summer-like fun conditions.


1.  Shorecliffs  268

2.  Bernice Ayer  172

3.  Thurston  145

4.  Marco Forster  103

5.  Don Juan Avila  72

6.  Niguel Hills  69.5

7.  Vista Del Mar 43.5

Boys Shortboard
1.  Kei Kobayashi,  Shorecliffs
2.  Jacob Atwood, Shorecliffs
3.  Curran Dand, Shorecliffs
4.  Shane Hardy, Shorecliffs
5.  Noah Hohenester, Bernice Ayer
6.  Noah Atwood, Shorecliffrs

Boys Longboard
1.  River Covey, Shorecliffs
2.  Jacob Atwood, Shorecliffs
3.  Kai Takayama, Bernice Ayer
4.  Dante Madrigal, Thurston
5.  Jack Benjamin, Marco Foster
6.  Gus Day, Shorecliffs

Girls Shortboard
1.  Alexa Elseewi, Bernice Ayer
2.  Tera Richardson, Shorecliffs
3.  Maya Harrison, Bernice Ayer
4.  Claire Kelly, Thurston
5.  Liv Stokes, Don Juan Avila
6.  Lily Benjamin, Marco Forster

Girls Longboard
1.  Teresa O’Connor, Marco Forster
2.  Meg Roh, Marco Forster
3.  Maya Harrison, Bernice Ayer
4.  Kaila Patterson, Shorecliffs
5.  Gabriella McCormick, Bernice Ayer
6.  Kaelen McKracken, Shorecliffs

Coed Bodyboard
1.  Luke Overin, Bernice Ayer
2.  Derek Reynolds, Bernice Ayer
3.  Shane Kimbrough, Bernice Ayer
4.  Kian Feiner, Shorecliffs
5.  Logan Manning, Shorecliffs
6.  Jayson Cramin, Niguel Hills



St. Margarets  38        def       El Toro  31

Laguna Beach  60       def       Santa Margarita  24

Woodrow Willson      Bye      Win

Mens Shortboard

1.  Tobie Grierson, Laguna Beach
2.  Tyler Cassill, Laguna Beach
3.  Cameron DePfeiffer, Laguna Beach
4.  Tristan Burke, Woodrow Wilson
5.  Sean Siegrist, Laguna Beach
6.  Dan Stockton, Woodrow Wilson

Mens Longboard
1.  Eric Siegrist, Laguna Beach
2.  Tobie Grierson, Laguna Beach
3.  Dan Stockton, Woodrow Wilson
4.  Cameron DePfeiffer, Laguna Beach
5.  Michael Basangan, Woodrow Wilson
6.  Yujiro Fukazawa, El Toro

Womens Shortboard
1.  Savanna Garcia, Woodrow Wilson
2.  Coco Putnam, Laguna Beach
3.  Marlee Grosher, Laguna Beach
4.  Pearl Hoogs, Woodrow Wilson
5.  Dana Morris, El Toro
6.  Jacque Stockton, El Toro

Womens Longboard
1.  Marlee Grosher, Laguna Beach
2.  Isibael Gregg, Woodrow Wilson
3.  Coco Putnam, Laguna Beach
4.  Savanna Garcia, Woodrow Wilson
5.  Ashley Quintilone, El Toro
6.  Dana Morris, El Toro

Coed Bodyboard
1.  Blair Conklin, Laguna Beach
2.  Scott Anderson, Santa Margarita
3.  Zach Simpson, Woodrow Wilson
4.  Chris Prynn, St. Margarets
5.  Jacque Stockton, El Toro

Directions:  From the 5 Freeway (between San Clemente and Camp Pendelton) exit Basilone Road and head West.  Just south of the off ramp will be Special Event Parking.

Parking:  Special Event Parking is $20 per vehicle all day.   State Parking Passes are NOT accepted.  Gates open at 6am to Sunset.  We will have a shuttle for team canopies and large items only.  Plan extra time for walking down to the beach.