Home » Posts » LA/Santa Barbara Middle School Results

LA/Santa Barbara Middle School Results

MARCH 22-23, 2014 – Zuma Beach

The Scholastic Surf Series a division of the Western Surfing Assoc. (WSA) completed event # 5 of the Los Angeles-Santa Barbara Middle School Division surf season at Zuma Beach. The surf wasn’t great but it was contestable all weekend with 2-3′ waves and happy competitors paddling for every wave.
It’s not always the kid that wins that has the most fun. Although it is pretty fun to win… This weekend there were smiles everywhere I looked and here are a few names that stood out. Betsey Lee winning the girls longboard, Joshua Rutz taking 5th in Boys Shortboard as well as Sam Reichel winning the Boys Shortboard, and I can’t forget Emma Higgins doing her best yet finishing in 2nd in Girls Shortboard.
Thank you to all our sponsors for your support as the kids get a chance to learn to compete in a great organization. For more info about the SSS, please contact Sue Lister, Administrative Director, at 760-518-2727 / [email protected] or Carolyn Krammer, Competition Director at [email protected]. You can also check out our website at www.surfsss.org for a current schedule of all SSS events in California.

Team Results
1. Santa Barbara Jr 210
2. Malibu 178
3. Crane 169
4. Cabrillo 157
5. Lincoln 135
6. John Adams 88
7. Santa Barbara MS 54
8. Los Cerritos 52
9. Balboa 33

Boys Shortboard
1. Sam Reichel Crane
2. Matty Pierce Santa Barbara Jr
3. Aiden Capps Santa Barbara Jr
4. Novalis Terzani Malibu
5. Joshua Rutz Cabrillo
6. Evan Blix Santa Barbara Jr

Boys Longboard
1. Evan Blix Santa Barbara Jr
2. Adam Hogue Crane
3. Aiden Capps Santa Barbara Jr
4. Shaymus O’Hearn Crane
5. Matty Pierce Santa Barbara Jr
6. Zion Denzel Cabrillo

Girls Shortboard
1. Grace George Lincoln
2. Emma Higgins Lincoln
3. Sara McKenzie Malibu
4. Kyralai Duppel John Adams
5. Devon Leight Lincoln
6. Saxon Rhodes Malibu

Girls Longboard
1. Betsey Lee Malibu
2. Alana Moore Crane
3. Emily Flavin Lincoln
4. Sarah McKenzie Malibu
5. Saxon Rhodes Malibu
6. Xia Xia Taylor Crane

1. Ryan Riffenburgh Cabrillo
2. Henry Hepp Santa Barbara Jr
3. William Wright Lincoln
4. William Scharin Santa Barbara Jr
5. Griffen Churchill Malibu
6. Whit Shelburne Crane