Scholastic Surf Series

Middle School State Champ Results 2022


The Scholastic Surf Series a Division of the WSA completed its Middle School Surfing Season with the Middle School State Championships that was held at 9th Street in Huntington Beach.  Twenty-Five (25) Middle School Surf Teams from San Diego to Santa Cruz traveled to HB in search of a State Championship Title.  We had a range of challenging surf and windy conditions but in the end it was a great event that culminated with crowning SSS 2022 State Champions in 5 Divisions and an Overall Team Champion.  Shorecliffs Middle School from San Clemente clinched their 11thSSS State Title in Overall Team, followed by Valley Middle School from Carlsbad with a second place in the Overall Team.

We are thankful to have the support of Tom Gibbons in awarding two SSS surfers with a Scholastic/Sportsmanship award which included a check for $300 each and a plaque as well as two Service Awards.  Tom Gibbons was the Founder and first President of the NSSA, Founding Director of the HB International Surfing Museum and Founding Director of the United States Surfing Federation.  It is an honor to have his support for our Scholastic Surf Series Program.

We also want to thank our sponsors for their support of the SSS:  Sharp Eye Surfboards, Standard Graphics, Sticky Bumps Surf Wax, Surface Sun Systems, Oceanside Longboard Surfing Club and the WSA.  Below are the individual results and the top 10 Overall Teams.  A full list of placings will be posted on the SSS webpage at:

Scholastic/Sportsmanship Award by Tom Gibbons:

Victoria Duprat and Jett Maughan, Oak Crest Middle School

Service Awards by Tom Gibbons:

Bob Edwards, Valley Middle School  /  Dave Hennings, Shorecliffs Middle School


Overall Team/Points

  1. Shorecliffs 306
  2. Valley 234
  3. Oak Crest 233
  4. Cabrillo 160
  5. Aviara Oaks 142
  6. Bernice Ayer 134
  7. Mission Hill 117
  8. Oceanside 113
  9. Correia 94

Malibu  94

Team – Boys Shortboard


Team – Boys Longboard


Team – Girls Shortboard


Team – Girls Longboard


Team – Coed Bodyboard

Oak Crest


Boys Shortboard

  1. Luke Macbeth, Valley
  2. Sutton Tudor, Oak Crest
  3. Laird Lavik, Shorecliffs
  4. Chase Niemann, Shorecliffs
  5. Westley Young, Bernice Ayer
  6. Nash Price, Shorecliffs

Boys Longboard

  1. Noah Hogle, Valley
  2. Slater Todd, Aviara Oaks
  3. Chase Matheson, Bernice Ayer
  4. Shayne Davis, Cabrillo
  5. Brayden Fisk, Muirlands
  6. Parker Thompson, Shorecliffs

Girls Shortboard

  1. Avery McDonald, Shorecliffs
  2. Remy Todd, Shorecliffs
  3. Gwyneth Lyon, Vista Del Mar
  4. Victoria Duprat, Oak Crest
  5. Hana Bakker, Shorecliffs
  6. Astrid Egan, Muirlands

Girls Longboard

  1. Victoria Duprat, Oak Crest
  2. Madelyn Skaar, Cabrillo
  3. Astrid Egan, Muirlands
  4. Ava Damitio, Shorecliffs
  5. Ellie Heinrich, Shorecliffs
  6. Gwyneth Lyon, Vista Del Mar

Coed Bodyboard

  1. Jonah Soderberg, Aviara Oaks
  2. Tayden Fowler, Oak Crest
  3. Grant Parsons, Shorecliffs
  4. Fisher Rosette, Valley
  5. Calvin Petkus, Malibu
  6. YuYu Chan, Oak Crest
Read More »
1 2 3 102