La Jolla Shores – Jan 7, 2017

Well we opened up the year 2017 with an event between the rain drops.  It was a rainy end to 2016 and it looks like 2017 is going to be a wet one.  We were lucky enough to squeeze in some sunny days for the first event of the year.  The surf was definitely contestable but a bit on the small side to start us off.  Competitors showed their skills in groveling for the waves that could provide the best scores possible.  In Division 3 Coronado and San Marcos continue to lead the team vs team with no team losses followed by Cathedral Catholic with 2 wins and 1 loss.  In Division 4 Grauer just pulled ahead with 3 wins and no losses when they took the win over Sage Creek. That leaves 3 teams tied with 2 wins and 1 loss each (Bishops, Mission Bay and Sage Creek).  With 2 events left it should get interesting.

Team Results  Division 3

Cathedral Catholic  74            def       Woodrow Wilson  56

San Marcos  78                       def       University City  55

Coronado  83                          def       Westview  50

Individual Results Division 3

Mens Shortboard

  1. Cole Quinlan, Coronado
  2. Gavin Doan, Cathedral Catholic
  3. Liam Casey, Coronado
  4. Shane Cox, Cathedral Catholic
  5. Shane Tuschen, University City
  6. Garrett Cleary, Cathedral Catholic

Mens Longboard

  1. Cole Quinlan, Coronado
  2. Kent Pinz, University City
  3. Sam Heck, Woodrow Wilson
  4. Tommy Churchyard, Cathedral Catholic
  5. Alex Volk, University City
  6. Julian Cole, San Marcos

Womens Shortboard

  1. Mia Tedesco, Woodrow Wilson
  2. Makena Werling, Woodrow Wilson
  3. Gabi Robledo, Coronado
  4. Hana McEvilly, Cathedral Catholic
  5. Chapin Miller-Maes, Coronado
  6. Violet Renard, Westview

Womens Longboard

  1. Hana McEvilly, Cathedral Catholic
  2. Sydney Zoehrer, Coronado
  3. Clara Steinhauer, University City
  4. Makena Werling, Woodrow Wilson
  5. Chapin Miller-Maes, Coronado
  6. Bridget Root, San Marcos


  1. Andrew Dafnis, San Marcos
  2. Michael Oanta, Westview
  3. James Deleray, Woodrow Wilson
  4. Jack Outlaw, Coronado
  5. Brendan Davey, Cathedral Catholic
  6. Nicholas Tostado, University City


Team Results Division 4

Mission Bay  50                      def       St. Augustine/OLP  39

Grauer  50                               def       Sage Creek  40

High Tech  48                         def       El Camino  41

Bishops  48                             def       Classical Academy  40

Individual Results Division 4

Mens Shortboard

  1. Cole Hurst, High Tech
  2. Dennis El-Ghoroury, Grauer
  3. Jacob Champlin, Classical Academy
  4. Dylan El-Ghoroury, Grauer
  5. Garrett Edwards, Sage Creek
  6. Aiden Cannon, Sage Creek

Mens Longboard

  1. Colin Quinn, Grauer
  2. Kasey Bowles, Grauer
  3. Noa Hopper, Bishops
  4. Chris Fandy, Sage Creek
  5. Noah Jackson, High Tech
  6. Will Scheibler, Bishops

Womens Shortboard

  1. Makena Foster, Classical Adacemy
  2. Sidney Johnson, Classical Academy
  3. Nikki Cowan, El Camino
  4. Noa Hochman, Grauer
  5. Kamden Miller, Sage Creek
  6. Ciara Gray, Mission Bay

Womens Longboard

  1. Grace Kotnik, Our Lady of Peace
  2. Bridget Stephenson, Classical Academy
  3. Nikki Cowan, El Camino
  4. Katherine Fandy, Sage Creek
  5. Maddie Devilbiss, Sage Creek
  6. Chloe Faucher, Our Lady of Peace


  1. Kai Stern, Grauer
  2. Nicholas Campagna, Mission Bay
  3. Fabian Torres, El Camino
  4. Jonathon Douglas, Bishops
  5. Christian Alfaro, Classical Academy
  6. Connor Sweeney, High Tech



Google Map click here