San Fernando Place, MB – Oct 23, 2022

Welcome to the 2022-23 SDHS Division 5 Scholastic Surf Series first event of the season.  The season opener brought with it some wild and challenging conditions.  Some light showers and wind overnight left us with some 4-7 foot bumpy conditions.  The side shore wind made for some corners which did allow for some great surfing and a lot of cheering from the teams on the beach. A big congratulations to the men and women who turned in some great performances in such challenging conditions.

Team Results Division 5                  

La Jolla Country Day 46                     def       Canyon Hills  28

Bishops  53.5                                     def       Westview  28

El Camino  45                                     def       Coronado “JV”  43

Coastal Academy “B”   52                   def       Rancho Bernardo/Poway  38

Vista  53                                              def       Francis Parker  19

Santa Fe Christian  51                         def       Pacific Ridge  41

Individual Results                             Double Double Award:  Rory Engh, Bishops, WSB & WLB     

Mens Shortboard

  1.  Brandon Bacani, La Jolla Country Day
  2. Santiago Balderson, Coastal Academy “B”
  3. Luca Burity, La Jolla Country Day
  4. Fenton Daly, Bishops
  5. Justo Sierra, Coronado JV
  6. Wesley Sczupak, El Camino

Mens Longboard

  1. Fenton Daly, Bishops
  2. Steven Leste, El Camino
  3. Cade Zeillinger, Vista
  4. Marty Hamud, Santa Fe Christian
  5. Hudson, Taylor, Santa Fe Christian
  6. Wesley Sczupak, El Camino

Womens Shortboard

  1. Rory Engh, Bishops
  2. Piper Randolph, Pacific Ridge
  3. Monseratt Germann, Vista
  4. Veronica Gordon, Coastal Academy “B”
  5. Marley Wagner, La Jolla Country Day
  6. Lainey Weintre, El Camino

Womens Longboard

  1. Rory Engh, Bishops
  2. Piper Randolph, Pacific Ridge
  3. Monserrat Germain, Vista
  4. Ivana Staples, Rancho Bernardo/Poway
  5. Marley Wagner, La Jolla Country Day
  6. Reagan Harper, Coastal Academy “B”


  1. Steven Leste, El Camino
  2. Justo Sierra, Coronado JV
  3. Carl Murfey, Bishops
  4. Josh Costagna, Santa Fe Christian
  5. Adam McLaughlin, Coastal Academy “B”
  6. Sebastian Pierce, Pacific Ridge

Google Map click here

Directions to San Fernando Place:

From the 5 Fwy southbound exit Seaworld Drive turn right.
Go about 2 miles and exit onto Ingrahm/W. Mission Bay Drive.
Stay in the right hand lane and take the loop to continue on W. Mission Bay Drive until it ends at Mission Blvd. turn Left. The Parking Lot is on the Right hand side just past the Roller Coaster.

We’ll be set up at the South end of the parking lot on the beach..